If I Were in Charge of the World

If I Were in Charge of the World
(a form change poem with thanks to Judith Viorst)

If I were in charge of the world,
I’d cancel forest fires, broccoli, and also making up snow days.

If I were in charge of the world,
There would be more cats, more ice cream, and lots of candy all day.

If I were in charge of the world,
You wouldn’t have any kind of insect.
You wouldn’t have work days.
You wouldn’t have giant lizards.

If I were in charge of the world,
Ice cream, cookies, and giant cups of egg nog
Would be a balanced meal.
All people would be cat lovers.
And a person who sometimes forgets to take a bath
And sometimes throws spaghetti all over their brother
Would still be allowed to be in charge of the world.

Published by

Cherie Blessing

My name is Miss Blessing, and I would like to welcome you to our class blog! Teaching is the calling of my heart, and I hope to set an example of tenacious engagement in learning this year. Let the Great Adventure begin!

One thought on “If I Were in Charge of the World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *